This year’s MusicNL awards were announced and handed out Saturday evening during the organization’s gala at Holy Heart Theatre in St. John’s.

Leading the way with three awards was Nico Paulo, a Portuguese/Canadian songwriter, performer and visual artist who moved to Canada in 2014, and later to this province.

She won for Pop Artist of the Year, Songwriter of the Year, and jointly accepted the award for Artist of the Year with Jing Xia, who was also named Solo Artist of the Year.

XIA – 3 and Jason Benoit also won two awards; XIA – 3 for Rising Star and Instrumental Artist of the Year, while Benoit was chosen the Fan Choice Entertainer of the Year and Indigenous Artist of the Year.

Here is the complete list of winners is available on our website at

Album of the Year – Presented by FACTOR
Nico Paulo – Nico Paulo
Jing Xia – The Numinous Journey

Alternative Artist of the Year
Youngtree and the Blooms

Celtic/Traditional Artist of the Year Presented by Colemans Group of Companies
The Navigators

Classical Artist of the Year Presented by MUN School of Music
Bill Brennan

Country Artist of the Year
Mallory Johnson

Electronic Artist of the Year
It Could Be Franky

Fan’s Choice Entertainer of the Year Presented by SaltWire
Jason Benoit

L’Artiste Francophone de L’Année Presented by Fédération des francophones de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador

Folk/Roots Artist of the Year
Darcy Scott

Global Music Artist of the Year

Group of the Year Presented by Yamaha
With Violet

Indigenous Artist of the Year
Jason Benoit

Instrumental Artist of the Year

Jazz Artist of the Year Presented by Coast 101.1
Duane Andrews and the Hot Club of Conception Bay

Loud Artist of the Year
Da Slyme

Music Video of the Year Presented by Up Sky Down
Rum Ragged – Let Me Fish Off Cape St. Mary’s
Directed by: Cecil Johnson

Pop Artist of the Year
Nico Paulo

Rap/Hip-Hop Artist of the Year
Albert Dalton

Rising Star of the Year
XIA – 3

Rock Artist of the Year Presented by George Street Association

Side Musician of the Year
Clare Follett

Solo Artist of the Year
Jing Xia

Ron Hynes Songwriter of the Year Presented by SOCAN
Nico Paulo

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *